Devotional: ‘Choosing Christ Over the World’

Standard

It was by faith that Moses, when he grew up, refused to be called the son of Pharaoh’s daughter.  He chose to share the oppression of God’s people instead of enjoying the fleeting pleasures of sin.  He thought it was better to suffer for the sake of Christ than to own the treasures of Egypt, for he was looking ahead to his great reward.  (Heb 11:24-26)

Many do not accept Christ’s offer of salvation for fear of having to ‘give-up’ something.  It is true. Those who choose to follow Jesus do have to give up this world and its many sinful pleasures.

“If any of you wants to be my follower, you must turn from your selfish ways, take up your cross, and follow me.  If you try to hang on to your life, you will lose it. But if you give up your life for my sake, you will save it.  And what do you benefit if you gain the whole world but lose your own soul?  Is anything worth more than your soul?” (Mt 16:24-26) 

Following Christ does require us to give up certain things in order that we might gain others. But before someone concludes that there is too much to give up, let him consider carefully Christ’s important question. “What will you benefit if you gain the whole world but lose your own soul? Is anything worth more than your soul?” The bottom line is this – “Is there anything in this world worth the cost of our soul spending eternity in hell?”

Those who choose to follow Jesus do have to give up many things. Yet they also gain many things. For instance, they gain eternal life. They gain an intimate relationship with God who is holy and righteous, all-knowing, all-powerful, and always present. They gain the presence of the Holy Spirit in their lives who can bring them: joy, peace, contentment and the assurance that all things will work together for their good. They gain all the rewards Christ has in store for those who follow Him. And last, but not least, they gain the fellowship of others who are following Christ as well.

Often when I am writing these devotionals, a song comes to mind.  Today my mind goes to a song entitled – “This World Is Not My Home.”

THIS WORLD IS NOT MY HOME
This world is not my home, I’m just passing through.
My treasures are laid up somewhere beyond the blue.
The angels beckon me from Heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore.

O Lord you know I have no friend like you
If Heaven’s not my home, then Lord what will I do?
The angels beckon me from Heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore.

Just over in Glory land we’ll live eternally
The saints on every hand are shouting victory
Their songs of sweetest praise drift back from heaven’s shore
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore.

O Lord you know I have no friend like you
If Heaven’s not my home, then Lord what will I do?
The angels beckon me from Heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore.
Albert E. Brumley

Comments are closed.