Devotional: ‘A Commitment That Lasts’

Standard

Matthew 8:19 Then one of the teachers of religious law said to him, “Teacher, I will follow you no matter where you go!” 20 But Jesus said, “Foxes have dens to live in, and birds have nests, but I, the Son of Man, have no home of my own, not even a place to lay my head.”

When news began to spread that there was a man called Jesus who could perform great miracles – many became excited. Some were excited over the possibility of being healed. Others were excited over the possibility that the Messiah had finally come. And still others were excited about the possibility of adventure.

A while back I watched the movie – “End of the Spear.” Those of you who are familiar with it known that it is about five young missionaries who gave their lives while trying to evangelize native people in Ecuador. As I watched the movie I felt myself getting excited. It all seemed like a great adventure that I would like to experience some day. But then I began to think a little deeper. I asked myself, “Is my excitement due to my desire to do God’s will, or is my excitement due to the possibility of adventure?” To be honest, I think the latter was more of the reason than the first. There’s something in many of us that wants to experience the thrill of a great adventure.

As Jesus performed His many a religious teacher exclaimed – “Teacher, I will follow you no matter where you go!” I wonder what Jesus thought as He heard those words. Perhaps He thought – ‘Will you? Will you give up everything in order to become one of My disciples? Do you know where I am going? Do you know what awaits Me? Are you willing to lay down your life for the will of God? Will you follow Me all the way to the end?’

Jesus responded to the man’s excitement by saying – “Foxes have dens to live in, and birds have nests, but I, the Son of Man, have no home of my own, not even a place to lay my head.” Jesus was more than happy to have this man follow Him; however, the Lord wanted his decision to be more than a moment of excitement. Jesus wanted a commitment that would last all the way to the end.

Comments are closed.