Devotional: ‘Que Sera Sera!’

Standard

Perhaps you’re old enough to remember the song by Doris Day – ‘Que Sera Sera.’ Though it was published the year I was born (1956), I remember hearing it often as I was growing up. A loose translation of this would be – ‘Whatever Will Be Will Be.’  Que Sera Sera!’ Many times we approach life with this kind of attitude. We conclude that if God is in control, whatever will be – will be. The Bible teaches us that God is in control and that He always operates according to His divine plan. (see Ephesians 1:9) Yet the Bible also teaches us that God moves according to the prayers of His people.

Pastor and Bible teacher David Jeremiah wrote –

“I scoured the New Testament some time ago, looking for things God does in ministry that are not prompted by prayer.  Do you know what I found?  Nothing.  I don’t mean I had trouble in finding an item or two; I mean I found nothing. Everything God does in the work of ministry, He does through prayer.”

If these words are true, then we need to pray. Consider this portion of scripture.

Ezekiel 22:30 “I looked for someone who might rebuild the wall of righteousness that guards the land. I searched for someone to stand in the gap in the wall so I wouldn’t have to destroy the land, but I found no one.”

A time of judgment for the nation Israel. For centuries they had lived in sin and the Lord’s patience was about to come to an end. Yet though the nation deserved to be punished, God didn’t desire to do so. He wanted His people to turn from their sins and back to Him. For that to happen, someone needed to pray. God sought for a man who would take it upon himself to stand in the gap and to intercede for the people. Yet as the Lord sought for such a man, He found none. All had either fallen into sin or had given up hope. Everyone was singing – ‘Que Sera Sera.‘

The enemy is tearing down the walls of righteousness in our country every day. Yet while he is doing so, many of us are simply standing back and doing nothing. Perhaps we don’t care; but more likely we don’t believe. We don’t believe that our prayers can make a difference and so therefore we don’t pray. Yet wouldn’t it be a terrible thing to learn some day that things could have been different if only we had been the one to stand in the gap?

Where do you need to make a stand? Who are the lives that need your prayers? Don’t let unbelief rob you of your power. Someone has said that P-U-S-H makes a great acronym for prayer – PRAY UNTIL SOMETHING HAPPENS!

Comments are closed.