Devotional: ‘Till the Answer Comes You Gotta Keep Praying’

Standard

Luke 18:1 He then told them a parable on the need for them to pray always and not become discouraged: 2 “There was a judge in one town who didn’t fear God or respect man. 3 And a widow in that town kept coming to him, saying, ‘Give me justice against my adversary.’ 4 “For a while he was unwilling, but later he said to himself, ‘Even though I don’t fear God or respect man, 5 yet because this widow keeps pestering me, I will give her justice, so she doesn’t wear me out by her persistent coming.’ ” 6 Then the Lord said, “Listen to what the unjust judge says. 7 Will not God grant justice to His elect who cry out to Him day and night? Will He delay [to help] them? 8 I tell you that He will swiftly grant them justice. Nevertheless, when the Son of Man comes, will He find that faith on earth?” CSB

A great example of praying with faith can be seen in the life of a man by the name of George Mueller who lived back in the 1800’s. During his lifetime it is estimated that Mueller received millions of dollars (in today’s value) to help support his orphanages, and all as the result of praying with faith.

Financial support was not all Mueller received from his faith. Consider this story-

“One day George Mueller began praying for five of his friends. After many months, one of them came to the Lord. Ten years later, two others were converted. It took 25 years before the fourth man was saved. Mueller persevered in prayer until his death for the fifth friend, and throughout those 52 years he never gave up hoping that he would accept Christ! His faith was rewarded, for soon after Mueller’s funeral the last one was saved.” (www.christian-prayer-quotes)

As a way of illustrating the importance of praying in faith, Jesus told a story about a woman who needed help. So persistent was she in her pleading that the judge of the city concluded that she would never stop pestering him until he granted her request.

Jesus was not saying that we must twist God’s arm in order to receive His help. The Bible teaches us that God is more than willing to provide for His children. Jesus told this parable to emphasize the importance of our being faithful to pray. This great parable was introduced with – “men out always to pray and not become discouraged.”

George Mueller once wrote –

“I live in the spirit of prayer. I pray as I walk about, when I lie down and when I rise up. And the answers are always coming. Thousands and tens of thousands of times have my prayers been answered. When once I am persuaded that a thing is right and for the glory of God, I go on praying for it until the answer comes.”

Comments are closed.