Devotional: ‘I Will Follow You All of My Days’

Standard

(A Psalm of David when he was in the wilderness of Judah) Psalm 63:1 O God, thou art my God; early will I seek thee: my soul thirsteth for thee, my flesh longeth for thee in a dry and thirsty land, where no water is…

The introduction of this psalm tells us that it was written during a time when David was in the wilderness. The historical books of the Old Testament teach us that there was a time in David’s life when he had to flee from King Saul who was trying to kill him. It was during this season in his life that David found himself in search of a deeper relationship with God.

It is never fun to be in a wilderness. Such times often cause us to cry out to God and seek His presence. David did. “O God, thou art my God; early will I seek thee: my soul thirsteth for thee, my flesh longeth for thee in a dry and thirsty land, where no water is…” One translation says – “I eagerly seek You. I thirst for You; my body faints for You …”

David was desperate for God. Such desperation can sometimes cause us to despair. Yet the Bible says that David knew how to ‘encourage himself in the Lord.’ (see 1 Sam 30:6) How did David do this?

Psalm 63:6 When I remember thee upon my bed, and meditate on thee in the night watches. 7 Because thou hast been my help, therefore in the shadow of thy wings will I rejoice.

David delivered himself from a moment of desperation by focusing upon God’s faithfulness. Paul tells us that one of the ways to overcome worry is by giving thanks to God for all He has done. (see Php 4:6-7) As David meditated upon God’s faithfulness in the past, he was reassured of God’s faithfulness in the present. “In the shadow of thy wings I will rejoice” David said.

There are many things in life that can drive us out into the wilderness. It is during such times that you and I need to learn how to encourage ourselves in the Lord. One good way of doing this is through Christian music.

STEP BY STEP
(click to listen)
Rich Mullins

Oh God, You are my God
And I will ever praise You
Oh God, You are my God
And I will ever praise You

I will seek You in the morning
And I will learn to walk in Your ways
And step by step, You’ll lead me
And I will follow You all of my days

And step by step You’ll lead me, and I will follow You all of my days.

Comments are closed.