Devotional: ‘Step by Step You’ll Lead Me’

Standard

Psalm 37:23 The steps of a good man are ordered by the LORD: and he delighteth in his way. 24 Though he fall, he shall not be utterly cast down: for the LORD upholdeth him with his hand.

One of the great problems that many of us have is that we try to live life on our own. We see God as a back-up in case our plan fails. Yet the Bible teaches us that God wants to walk with us every step of the way. A perfect example of this is the life and ministry of our Savior.

John 5 tells us about a time when Jesus healed a man on the Sabbath. The religious leaders were upset and could not understand why He would do such a thing. When they questioned Jesus He said-

John 5:17 … My Father worketh hitherto, and I work. 19 … Verily, verily, I say unto you, The Son can do nothing of Himself, but what He seeth the Father do: for what things soever He doeth, these also doeth the Son likewise.

I find it totally amazing that Jesus said that He could do nothing of Himself, but only what the Father revealed to Him. Step by step His Father guided Him. With that in mind, consider what our Lord said to His disciples.

John 15:4 Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, except it abide in the vine; no more can ye, except ye abide in me. 5 I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing. 8 Herein is my Father glorified, that ye bear much fruit; so shall ye be my disciples.

It is only by our abiding in Christ (walking with Him step by step) that we are able to bear spiritual fruit. Jesus said that without Him, we can do nothing. But with Him, we can bear much fruit that will bring our Father glory.

As I am writing today’s devotional I am listening to music on the Internet. Guess what song just came on-

Oh God, You are my God
And I will ever praise You
Oh God, You are my God
And I will ever praise You

I will seek You in the morning
And I will learn to walk in Your ways
And step by step, You’ll lead me
And I will follow You all of my days

Rich Mullins

Isn’t God amazing? Step by step He’ll lead us and we will follow Him all of our days.

Comments are closed.