Devotional: ‘I Will Seek You in the Morning’

Standard

“O God, thou art my God; early will I seek thee…” (Ps 63:1)

There is something very powerful about seeking God early in the morning. Here are three reasons why:

1) It is the Time of Least Interference

Many people call their daily devotions their – “Quiet Time.” In most homes the atmosphere is very peaceful and quiet early in the morning. However, for many of us, the further we go into the day, the more hectic our life becomes. I am ashamed to admit it but there have been times in my life when I have gone through most of the day and never taken time to pray. It’s not that I’m against prayer or that I don’t believe that it is important. My negligence is due primarily to the fact that a million things are screaming for my attention.

That is why it is very important for us to set aside a few moments each morning to be alone with God. Even our Savior understood the importance of doing so.

Mark 1:35 And in the morning, rising up a great while before day, he went out, and departed into a solitary place, and there prayed.

2) It is the Time to Set the Tone of Our Spirit

The farther I go in my Christian life the more I realize the importance of walking in the Spirit. It is only by the power of the Holy Spirit that you and I can live the Christ-like life. Therefore it is very important that we have a time each day when we deliberately seek to put aside the flesh and to yield ourselves to the Holy Spirit. What better time to do this than first thing in the morning.

3) The Time to Receive Direction for the Day

Most days I have a certain agenda which I try to accomplish. I keep on my desk a list of things I need to do and people who I know need special care. Yet oftentimes the Lord overrules my agenda and brings into my life duties that are more important. Therefore, each morning I begin my day by striving to submit my will to His. I ask the Lord to give me wisdom to do those things that need to be done and to have the grace to minister to the ones who need a special touch of His care.

Oh God, You are my God
And I will ever praise You
Oh God, You are my God
And I will ever praise You

I will seek You in the morning
And I will learn to walk in Your ways
And step by step, You’ll lead me
And I will follow You all of my days

Rich Mullins

Comments are closed.