Devotional: ‘‘A Song While in the Wilderness’

Standard

(A Psalm of David, when he was in the wilderness of Judah.) Psalm 63:1 O God, thou art my God; early will I seek thee: my soul thirsteth for thee, my flesh longeth for thee in a dry and thirsty land, where no water is…

Like many of the psalms, this particular portion of scripture comes with an introduction. “A Psalm of David, when he was in the wilderness of Judah.” Several years ago my brother shared with me how he had learned that many of God’s choicest servants spent time in the wilderness. Moses did and so did David. John the Baptist spent time in the wilderness and so did the Apostle Paul and even our Savior. Many of you have had wilderness experiences as well. Sickness can be a wilderness and so can the death of a loved one. Those who lose their jobs sometimes go into the wilderness and so do couples who struggle in their marriages and parents who have trouble with their kids. Why does God sometimes allow us to be in the wilderness? I believe that He does so in order to draw us closer to Himself. There is something about time in the wilderness that causes a deep longing for God. It is in the wilderness that we sense an inner emptiness that only our Savior can fill. It was during his time in the wilderness that David developed a deeper relationship with God. Consider David’s longing for God.

David Longed for God’s Presence

Ps 63:3 Because thy lovingkindness is better than life, my lips shall praise thee.

David longed to feel God’s presence in his life. “Thy lovingkindness is better than life.” How sweet it is to feel the presence of God whenever we are in a wilderness.

David Longed for God’s Power

Psalm 63:2 To see thy power…

We are not given all the details of the occasion in which David wrote this psalm. Apparently it was very difficult for in vs 7 he speaks of those who desired to destroy his life. David desperately needed to see God’s strength and power being manifested in his life.

David Longed for God’s Praise

Psalm 63:2 To see thy power and thy glory, so as I have seen thee in the sanctuary.

David was a musician. Many of the psalms are songs he wrote to God. David loved to worship God and during this time of dryness in his soul, he desperately needed the refreshment that comes from worship. “Lord, I have been able to praise You in the past. Oh please let me praise You once again.”

Psalm 103:1 Bless the LORD, O my soul: and all that is within me, bless his holy name.

Comments are closed.