Devotional: ‘Oh God You Are My God’

Standard

Sometimes when I am praying the Lord places a song on my heart. For instance, consider the encouraging words of ‘What a Friend We Have in Jesus’.

 What a friend we have in Jesus
All our sins and griefs to bear!
What a privilege to carry
Everything to God in prayer!
Oh, what peace we often forfeit
Oh, what needless pain we bear,
All because we do not carry
Everything to God in prayer!

Joseph M. Scriven, 1855

The other day I was praying and the chorus of ‘How Great Thou Art’ came into my mind.

Then sings my soul
My Saviour God, to Thee,
How great Thou art! How great Thou art!
Then sings my soul,
My Saviour God, to Thee,
How great Thou art! How great Thou art!

Carl Gustav Boberg, 1885

What a blessing it is to incorporate such powerful words into our prayers. This morning as I was praying, I heard in my spirit the words to a song entitled ‘Step by Step.’ (click here to listen on YouTube)

Oh God, You are my God
And I will ever praise You
Oh God, You are my God
And I will ever praise You

I will seek You in the morning
And I will learn to walk in Your ways
And step by step, You’ll lead me
And I will follow You all of my days

This song was written several years ago by a man named Rich Mullins. Though I do not know the story behind the song, the Lord has used it in a powerful way to encourage me. Recently I have been searching for God’s guidance in a particular matter and so I began my prayer this morning by saying – “I thank you that you are my God.” In other words – “I trust You to help me.” As I said those words, the lyrics to this song began to come into my mind and I found myself half-praying / half-singing / half-rejoicing / half-crying.

Perhaps you are wondering if it is right to use the lyrics to a song in our prayers. I believe that it is, especially when the song has been inspired by scripture. Centuries ago David wrote – “O God, thou art my God; early will I seek thee …” (Ps 63:1) No doubt this portion of scripture is what inspired Rich Mullins to write his song. I’m glad God inspired Rich Mullins to write this song and I’m glad God used it to speak to me.

Comments are closed.