Devotional: ‘Friends Can Either Make Us or Break Us’

Standard

The Bible says: “He that walketh with wise men shall be wise: but a companion of fools shall be destroyed.” (Proverbs 13:20) Simply put – Friends can either make us or break us.

As I think back over my life, I can see how some of my friends helped me and others hurt me. Some of my friends helped me by encouraging me to walk closer with the Lord. Not only did they encouraged me in the things of God; their presence helped to create an atmosphere where living for God was easier and more enjoyable. But other friends have hurt me. Many of them were not Christians and therefore God was never a part of our relationship. In addition, their sinful behavior often stirred up things within my old nature and caused me to wander away from God.

Consider David’s words about our friends.

Psalm 1:1 Blessed is the man that walketh not in the counsel of the ungodly, nor standeth in the way of sinners, nor sitteth in the seat of the scornful.

Notice the negative influence of sinful friends.

At first we ‘walk’ with them. Perhaps our association is only casual and occasional. We see each other once in a while; speak and then move on. However, if we begin to walk too much with them, sooner or later their thoughts and ideas will begin to rub off on us. We will be drawn into their world.

Then we begin to ‘stand’ with them. No longer is our association accidental or infrequent. It is now regular and intentional and we find ourselves traveling along their pathway.

Lastly, we begin to ‘sit’ with them. By this time in our relationship, we have formed a bond. They have become our companions and we’re becoming more and more like them.

Friends can either make us or break us. That’s why Solomon gave us these words of wisdom –

“He that walketh with wise men shall be wise: but a companion of fools shall be destroyed.” (Proverbs 13:20)

Comments are closed.