Devotional: ‘Ready for Some Spring’

Standard

If you’re like me, you’re probably ready for some spring. I know that there are many who love winter and I hope that you’re having a good time; but as for me and my house – GIVE US THE WARM WEATHER!

Recently Tammy said to me, “We’ve all been experiencing a hard winter and we’re ready for some spring.” I knew that she was referring not only to the weather outside, but to the weather inside as well. It’s time for some sunny days and new life. It’s time for some springtime in our souls. This week I would like to help us find that springtime.

Ephesians 4:22 that you put off, concerning your former conduct, the old man which grows corrupt according to the deceitful lusts, 23 and be renewed in the spirit of your mind, 24 and that you put on the new man which was created according to God, in true righteousness and holiness. NKJV

There’s not much you and I can do to control the weather outside. Though some say that I can change the weather with my prayers, God rarely ever comes to me for a forecast. The Bible says that to everything there is a season (Ecc 3:1), and surely this is true with nature. God knows how long winter should last and when springtime should come. I love the way a good friend of mine explains this time of year. He says that winter and spring are in a wrestling match, each struggling for control. Though winter does all that it can to maintain its grip, spring eventually wins out.

The same is true spiritually. The Apostle Paul tells us that there is a great spiritual battle going on inside each of us. This battle is between our old nature (winter) and our new nature (spring). At times it may seem that the old nature will never loosen its grip; but through Christ, the new nature can win!

Though you and I may not be able to control the weather outdoors, we can have a lot of influence over what happens inside of our spirit. “Throw off you old evil nature” Paul tells us. “Do not let winter keep its control. Instead, allow the springtime of your relationship with Christ to blossom.”

We all know what’s happening outdoors. Intermingled in our flower beds are patches of snow and the green shoots of daffodils. One moment the sun is shining and the next minute it’s snowing. But, before we know it, spring will win and we will see this world come to life once again. But what about our inner man? Which season are we in? I pray that during our studies this week we will determine to put away winter and get ready for some spring!

Comments are closed.