Devotional: ‘God Rewarded Their Faith’

Standard

Hebrews 11 is one of the great chapters in all of the Bible. It is often called – ‘God’s Heroes of Faith’, or ‘Faith’s Hall of Fame.’ A careful study of this rich chapter will reveal three important truths. God’s Heroes:

1) Chose God Over the World

2) Obeyed God in Whatever He Said

3) Were Rewarded for Their Great Faith

Hebrews 11:5 It was by faith that Enoch was taken to heaven so he would not die. He could not be found, because God had taken him away. Before he was taken, the Scripture says that he was a man who truly pleased God.

Hebrews 11:7 It was by faith that Noah … built a large boat to save his family.

Hebrews 11:11 …It was by faith that Abraham was made able to become a father…

Hebrews 11:29 It was by faith that the people crossed the Red Sea as if it were dry land…

Hebrews 11:30 It was by faith that the walls of Jericho fell…

Hebrews 11:31 It was by faith that Rahab, the prostitute … was not killed…

Hebrews 11 is filled with many miraculous blessings. Babies were born. Rivers were parted. Walls fell flat. Lives were saved. All of this happened as a reward for someone’s faith in God and His goodness.

Many years ago I was going through a difficult time spiritually. I was financially broke, mentally exhausted, and spiritually beginning to the goodness of God. But then one day I read a verse from Hebrews 11.

Hebrews 11:6 But without faith it is impossible to please him: for he that cometh to God must believe that he is, and that he is a rewarder of them that diligently seek him.

As I read that verse I realized how important it was that I continue to trust God. Not only was my faith necessary to please Him; without faith I would never receive the fullness of His blessings. As a result, I rededicated myself to prayer and the pursuit of knowing God. God answered my prayers in many ways. Those days became some of the richest days in my walk as a believer. God’s presence became very real and powerful in my life. I became more content in my circumstances and willing to wait on Him and His will. And sometime shortly after that, the Lord opened the door for us to move to Lima, OH where we spent eleven wonderful years in ministry.

God has promised to reward those who diligently seek Him.

Comments are closed.