Devotional: ‘Great Faith in a Great God’

Standard

Hebrews 11:2 Faith is the reason we remember great people who lived in the past. NCV

The Bible is full of stories of great men and women of God. Because many of these individuals did things that seem miraculous, we are sometimes tempted to believe that their greatness was due to something within themselves. Surely David must have had ‘great courage’ when he went up against the giant named Goliath. Or Moses must have had ‘great power’ to be able to part the Red Sea. Or Abraham must have had ‘great confidence in his own ability’ to survive’ when he took off into an unknown land. Yet scripture teaches us that their greatness did not lie in their personal character or natural abilities. Their greatness was due to the fact that they had ‘great faith in a great God.’

It was the pioneer missionary Hudson Taylor who once said – “All God’s giants have been weak men who did great things for God because they reckoned on His being with them.” Notice, God’s giants were weak men. They all had the same flaws that you and I have. Yet they did great things for God. How? They did so because they had ‘great faith in God’s promise to be with them.’

Such is the case of the many men and women listed in Hebrews 11. This chapter of the Bible has often been called – ‘God’s Heroes of Faith’, or ‘Faith’s Hall of Fame.’ The word ‘faith’ is used over twenty times in this passage and the phrase ‘by faith’ is mentioned almost every time before each person’s great feat is explained.

Hebrews 11:2 Faith is the reason we remember great people who lived in the past. NCV

Many years ago Tammy and I were members of Thomas Road Baptist Church while Dr. Jerry Falwell was still living. Actually we lived within eyesight of the church before it was relocated to Liberty’s campus. I remember Dr. Falwell preaching on this verse one Sunday night. He was not the world’s deepest theologian, but whatever he said had great power because you knew that he had lived it. What he said that night made such an impact upon me that I wrote it down in my Bible.

For by it (faith) the elders obtained a good report.” (vs. 2) And then he said – “AND SO CAN WE.”  Those four words gave great courage to a young seminary student who was struggling to survive. At this point and time in my life, I  was financially broke and mentally exhausted having spent the last five years with my nose in a book. I was working for just a little over minimum wage and I was becoming a bit angry from having to see my family continue to do without. To be honest, I wanted to quit; yet the Spirit kept beckoning me to continue on.

I’m not saying that I have been, or that I ever will be, one of God’s Heroes of Faith. Yet I can honestly say that I want to be such a man of God. Burning deep within me is the desire to please Him. I want my Savior to be glorified somehow through my life. I want God to use me to do something that can only be explained by the fact that He was with me. I suppose that if you really knew Terry Covey, you would marvel at the fact that God was using him at all. If my name was mentioned in Hebrews 11 it would say – “By faith Terry Covey pastors a church and writes a daily devotional.”

By faith the elders obtained a good report. So can we, dear brethren. So can we!

 

Comments are closed.