Devotional: ‘The Need for a New Covenant’

Standard

Yesterday we began examining three reasons why it was necessary for Jesus to come and provide a better priesthood.

Reason 1 – The Need of a Better Sacrifice

Hebrews 10:4 For it is impossible for the blood of bulls and goats to take away sins. 5 Wherefore when he cometh into the world, he saith, Sacrifice and offering thou wouldest not, but a body hast thou prepared me:

Reason 2 – The Need for a New Covenant

Hebrews 8:6 But Jesus has now obtained a superior ministry, and to that degree He is the mediator of a better covenant, which has been legally enacted on better promises. CSB

Jesus is a better High Priest because He has instituted a better covenant with God. First of all, what is a covenant? A covenant is an agreement made between two people or parties that often entails promises as well as responsibilities.

Shortly after Moses led the children of Israel out of Egypt, he inaugurated a covenant between God and His people. Exodus 19:5 Now if you will listen to Me and carefully keep My covenant, you will be My own possession out of all the peoples, although all the earth is Mine, 6 and you will be My kingdom of priests and My holy nation. These are the words that you are to say to the Israelites.” CSB We should note that the first covenant was ‘conditional’ in that God promised to bless His people – ‘if’- they faithfully obeyed His commands. As we well know, the Jews failed to keep their part of the covenant and therefore it was necessary for God to establish and new and better covenant.

Hebrews 8:8…”Look, the days are coming,” says the Lord, “when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and with the house of Judah- 9 not like the covenant that I made with their fathers on the day I took them by their hand to lead them out of the land of Egypt. Because they did not continue in My covenant, I disregarded them,” says the Lord. 10 “But this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days,” says the Lord: “I will put My laws into their minds, and I will write them on their hearts, and I will be their God, and they will be My people. CSB

Unlike the first covenant, the second covenant did not contain the word ‘if.’ God simply said – “I will…”

God’s New Covenant is a covenant grace based upon the sacrificial death of His Son. Many have noted that in heaven, our great High Priest presents the blood of His own great sacrifice that was made on the cross.

Comments are closed.