Devotional: ‘When I Am Weak, Then I Am Strong’

Standard

Have you ever felt insufficient or inadequate? Have you ever had something to do that caused you to be afraid? Most of us have. If I had a dollar for every time I have felt that way I would be a rich man.

Jeremiah couldn’t understand how God could use someone like himself. In his eyes he was too young and too inexperienced. Yet what he did not realize was that it was not him doing something for God, but God doing something through him. Consider these two great truths the LORD shared with Jeremiah.

1. God Had Created Jeremiah For This Special Purpose

Jeremiah 1:4 Then the word of the LORD came unto me, saying, 5 Before I formed thee in the belly I knew thee; and before thou camest forth out of the womb I sanctified thee, and I ordained thee a prophet unto the nations.

Notice, it was God who had formed Jeremiah in his mother’s womb and it was God who had ordained the purpose for which he would be born. I believe that God has a perfect purpose for each of our lives. According to Psalm 139, we are ‘fearfully and wonderfully made.’ We are not an accident. We are a part of God’s special plan.

2. God Promised Jeremiah That He Would Always Be With Him

Jeremiah 1:8 Be not afraid of their faces: for I am with thee to deliver thee, saith the LORD. 9 Then the LORD put forth his hand, and touched my mouth. And the LORD said unto me, Behold, I have put my words in thy mouth.

According to the Bible, God rarely chooses a naturally talented person to do His work, and even when He does so, He often brings some sort of trial into their lives in order to make them dependent upon Him. Consider the testimony of the Apostle Paul.

2 Corinthians 12:7 And lest I should be exalted above measure through the abundance of the revelations, there was given to me a thorn in the flesh, the messenger of Satan to buffet me, lest I should be exalted above measure . 8 For this thing I besought the Lord thrice, that it might depart from me. 9 And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. 10 Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong.

“Remove the thorn” Paul repeatedly cried. “My grace is all you need” was the Lord’s constant reply. Once Paul learned to live by the grace of God he was able to exclaim – “I rejoice in my difficulties, for when I am weak in myself, then I can be strong in Christ.”

Comments are closed.