Devotional: ‘Free to Serve God’

Standard

Christ came to this earth to set the captives free. Scripture says that He gave His life as a ransom for us so that we might be rescued from the terrible consequences of our sins. The Bible says that the wages of sin is death. (Rom 6:23) But there is also another reason why Christ gave His life for us. Christ came to rescue us from the terrible bondage of sin. Jesus said: “Whosoever committeth sin is the servant of sin.” (John 8:34)

Paul spoke of this freedom in his letter to the church at Rome. Romans 6:16 Know ye not, that to whom ye yield yourselves servants to obey, his servants ye are to whom ye obey; whether of sin unto death, or of obedience unto righteousness? 17 But God be thanked, that ye were the servants of sin, but ye have obeyed from the heart that form of doctrine which was delivered you. 18 Being then made free from sin, ye became the servants of righteousness.

Only God can cause such a wonderful transformation. Only He can turn a sinner into a saint. Years ago there was a man named Mel Trotter who lived in the city of Chicago. Trotter was a terrible alcoholic who once said that he was so far down he would have to reach up in order to touch the bottom. He would get drunk and stay drunk for weeks on end. One day he staggered home only to find his wife holding the their dead child in her arms. He promised his wife that he would never drink again, but in less than two hours after the baby’s funeral, he was selling his shoes to buy another drink. Finally he determined to kill himself and end it all, but something miraculous happened that prevented him from doing so. He staggered by a building where he could hear singing. The building was the Pacific Garden Rescue Mission. A man invited him inside and there Mel Trotter heard the wonderful truth that Jesus came to seek and to save that which was lost. In his own words Trotter said: I saw Jesus, bearing his cross, men spitting at him and crowning him with thorns, all for my sin. I saw him starting up that awful steep hill with his cross, and falling under it. I got a glimpse of my Lord that I have never lost for an instant…” [1] Mel Trotter gave his life to Jesus and later moved to Grand Rapids, Michigan where he opened his own rescue mission. Today there is the Mel Trotter ministries where thousands just like him have been miraculously transformed by the power of Christ.

Mel Trotter’s favorite verse was 2 Corinthians 5:17 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new. NKJV We read from the Bible – “I will give you a new heart, and a new spirit I will put within you. I will put my Spirit within you, and cause you to walk in my statutes and be careful to obey my rules.” (Ezekiel 36:26-27 ESV) It’s not us living for God. It’s God living through us.

I am thankful for the social freedoms I enjoy by living in this great country, but even more so I thank God for the spiritual freedom I enjoy by living in Christ. Because of Christ, I am no longer desire to be a servant of sin. Because of Christ, I desire to be a servant of His righteousness.

[1] http://the-new-way.org/testimonies/conv_varie_083_a_testimony_of_mel_trotter.html

Comments are closed.