Devotional: ‘The Truth Shall Make You Free’

Standard

I am proud to be an American. I am thankful for my country and the freedoms I am able to enjoy. From the first patriot who fought during the American Revolutionary War, to the soldier who is now serving somewhere in the world, I am thankful for those who have put themselves in harm’s way in order to help me be free. I am also thankful for the men and women who serve as policemen in order to help protect our freedoms here at home. I believe that freedom is something very precious and not to be taken for granted.

I am also thankful for my spiritual freedom. Jesus said: “And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.” (John 8:32) According to Christ, true freedom can come only when we know and believe the truth. But what is the truth? That’s the question Pilate asked of Jesus. There are many voices today that are crying out and telling us that they are speaking the truth. One voice says – “All religions are the same. All roads lead to heaven.” Another voice says – “There is no heaven. God is a hoax. All that matters is the here and now.” Yet another voice says – “God is too loving and too kind to allow someone go to hell.” So what is the truth? The Bible says that truth is:

 1.  We Are All Sinful

  • Romans 3:23 For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God.
  • Romans 3:10 There is none righteous, no, not one…
  • Romans 3:12 … there is none that doeth good, no, not one.

Though a lot of people try to think that they are pretty good, the truth is – we’re all sinful in the sight of God. Every one of us have failed God in some sort of way.

2.  There Are Consequences for Our Sins

  • Romans 6:23 For the wages of sin is death…

Another word for wages would be ‘consequences.’ The consequences of our moral failure is eternal separation from a holy God.

3.  There is Forgiveness in Jesus Christ

  • Romans 6:23 …but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.

Jesus said: “I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.” (Jn 14:6) That is the truth that will set us free and everything else is a lie that will keep us in bondage and eventually send us to hell.

Comments are closed.