Devotional: ‘Divine Providence’

Standard

There is a principle taught in Bible that we must understand in order to grow in our relationship with God. It is the principle of Divine Providence. Divine Providence can be described as God’s care and guidance over His creation. A deeper study of the word reveals that Providence is God’s willingness to provide for our needs based upon His ability to know the future. In other words, Providence is God going before us and making a way. Moses said to the children of Israel – “And the LORD, he it is that doth go before thee; he will be with thee, he will not fail thee, neither forsake thee: fear not, neither be dismayed.” (Deut 31:8)

There are many great examples in the Bible of God guiding men and women by His Divine Providence. The story of Joseph is certainly one of the best. As you well know, Joseph was betrayed and sold into slavery by his brothers. After he arrived in Egypt, he was unjustly accused of a crime he didn’t commit and thrown into prison. But as his story continues to unfold we see that he was eventually elevated to become second in command over all of Egypt. Joseph said this concerning the providential hand of God – “But as for you, ye thought evil against me; but God meant it unto good, to bring to pass, as it is this day, to save much people alive.” (Genesis 50:20) Though Joseph’s brothers sold him into slavery for sinful reasons, God was still with him and used his brothers’ actions as a means to accomplish His perfect will.

Another great example of God’s Providence is seen in the life of a young woman named Ruth. When the Bible first mentions Ruth, she is a young widow from the country of Moab. When the Bible lasts mentions Ruth, she is a part of the genealogy of Jesus Christ. How did a woman go from being a Moabite widow to a vital part of God’s salvation plan? It all happened because of the providential hand of God. Long before Ruth knew God, God knew Ruth.

God knows all there is to know about us. We read from scripture: Psalms 139:1 Lord, You have searched me and known me. 2 You know when I sit down and when I stand up; You understand my thoughts from far away. 3 You observe my travels and my rest; You are aware of all my ways. 4 Before a word is on my tongue, You know all about it, Lord. 5 You have encircled me; You have placed Your hand on me. 6 This extraordinary knowledge is beyond me. It is lofty; I am unable to reach it. (CSB) To put it in modern terminology – it blew David’s mind to think that God knew all there was to know about him. David he went on to write: Psalm 139:16 Your eyes saw me when I was formless; all my days were written in Your book and planned before a single one of them began. God knew all that would happen in David’s life – even before it happened.

Long before Ruth knew God, God knew Ruth and He had a very special plan for her life. The same is true with each of us as well. We are not accidents. We are a part of God’s eternal plan. We read from the book of Revelation – Revelation 4:11 Thou art worthy, O Lord, to receive glory and honour and power: for thou hast created all things, and for thy pleasure they are and were created. We have been created to bring God pleasure.

 

Comments are closed.