Devotional: ‘The Power of Music’

Standard

Like many of you, I love music; especially music that draws my heart to God. Often I listen to quiet music as I am studying. This morning as I was listening, the playlist brought up Shout to the Lord. Though I’ve heard this song a thousand times, it still is one of my favorites. Consider some of the words –

My Jesus, my Saviour
Lord there is none like You
All of my days I want to praise
The wonders of Your mighty love

My comfort, my shelter
Tower of refuge and strength
Let every breath, all that I am
Never cease to worship You
(Darlene Zschech)

Several years ago I was going through a time when I was being tempted to worry. Though I tried to push my worries to the side, the devil continued to attack me relentlessly. Then during a Sunday morning service at church, the congregation sang Shout to the Lord. When I read the words – “Tower of refuge and strength”, I started to cry. It was the truth that I needed to hear and it helped to set me free!

Concerning the usage of music, the Apostle Paul tells us-

Ephesians 5:18 …be filled with the Spirit: 19 speaking to one another in psalms, hymns, and spiritual songs, singing and making music to the Lord in your heart, 20 giving thanks always for everything to God the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ… CSB

Though there are many kinds of music in the world, the kind of music that we should seek after is that which will cause us to ‘make music in our heart to the Lord.’ Such music goes hand-in-hand with the filling of the Spirit and it will fill our world with joy and thanksgiving.

I encourage you to make godly music a part of your daily walk with the Lord. Whether you are in the car, at home or at work – fill your world with songs that will help you glorify God. Music may not change our circumstances, but it can change how we react to our circumstances.

Comments are closed.