Devotional: ‘In Constant Communication With God’

Standard

I have been a Christian for over 40 years, yet my actual relationship with the Lord has been an ever-growing process of development. I understand some spiritual things today that I didn’t just a few years ago and I am sure that in the days ahead I will come to understand even more. One of the great lessons the Lord is currently teaching me has to do with my prayer life. I am learning that the Lord wants to have a constant conversation with me.

Not only am I praying more, I am praying about more. I am learning that God desires for me to share with Him every detail of my life and that He is willing to answer more prayers than I could possibly imagine. We read from the book of Philippians –

Philippians 4:6 Don’t worry about anything, but in everything, through prayer and petition with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God. CSB

God does not want His people to shoulder any burden alone, but instead to share with Him everything. Nothing is too big or too small to discuss with God. No problem is too great for Him to handle and no sin is too terrible for Him to forgive. Nothing about our lives is insignificant with Him. Paul said of God – “In him we live and move and have our being…” (Acts 17:28) The psalmist wrote – “Where can I flee from Your presence? If I go up to heaven, You are there; if I make my bed in Sheol, You are there. If I live at the eastern horizon [or] settle at the western limits, even there Your hand will lead me; Your right hand will hold on to me. If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me, and the light around me will become night”- even the darkness is not dark to You. The night shines like the day; darkness and light are alike to You.” (Ps 139:7-12 CSB) We are always with God; therefore it seems only natural that we our relationship with Him should be one of constant communication.

As you venture out into a new day, go with the knowledge that the Lord is with you. Whether it is driving down the road or sitting in a doctor’s office, God is there and He does not want to be just a silent observer. Instead He wants to be your dearest and closest Friend.

“Heavenly Father, thank You for always being with me. Thank You for allowing me to talk with You about every detail of my life. Thank You for always going before me and for leading me along the way. Thank You for Your forgiveness and for Your strength. May this day I have a constant conversation with You. Amen”

Comments are closed.