Devotional: ‘Go Back to the Truth’

Standard

Matthew 11:2 John the Baptist, who was now in prison, heard about all the things the Messiah was doing. So he sent his disciples to ask Jesus, 3 “Are you really the Messiah we’ve been waiting for, or should we keep looking for someone else?”

John the Baptist had been put in prison for preaching God’s Word. John was not a timid man nor someone who could easily be swayed. Yet after days in a lonely prison cell, the Devil began to plant seeds of doubt and fear in his mind. “Is Jesus really the Messiah? Is He really the Lamb of God that will take away the sin of the world? Have I been a fool for saying that He was? Is all of this worth giving my life? Is there a God? Does He care? What is the truth?” The Bible doesn’t say that John had all of these thoughts, yet they are many of the ones that I would have been thinking if I had been in John’s shoes.

Jesus said of John – “I assure you, of all who have ever lived, none is greater than John the Baptist.” (Mt 11:11) John was a rugged man who was deeply committed to God. Yet even the best of God’s people sometimes struggle. Scripture reveals that Satan purposefully attacked: Job, Jesus, Simon Peter and Paul. If the Devil is not afraid to go after such men as this, we can be sure that he’s not afraid to go after us as well.

So how do we fight off such spiritual invasions? Consider what Jesus told John –

Matthew 11:4 Jesus told them, “Go back to John and tell him about what you have heard and seen — 5 the blind see, the lame walk, the lepers are cured, the deaf hear, the dead are raised to life, and the Good News is being preached to the poor. 6 And tell him: ‘God blesses those who are not offended by me. ‘”

Tell John to go back to the truth.

Several days after my dad died, I began to question what happens after death. “Is my dad really in heaven or is all of this just something that we have told ourselves to make ourselves feel better? Is my dad still in the ground? Is all of this a lie? What is really the truth?” As these thoughts began to circle in my head, a verse of scripture came to me – “I assure you, today you will be with me in paradise.” Not tomorrow or next year or in a million years. Today! Then I began to search for other passages of scripture concerning death and the more I read, the more the fear went away and was replaced with confidence. I went back to the truth and the truth set me free!

Maybe today you are struggling with something yourself. Maybe it’s fear. Maybe it’s doubt. Maybe it’s worry. Whatever it is, the way to defeat it is to go back to the Truth – God’s Truth. There are many resources to help you find passages of scripture that will help you. The concordance in the back of your Bible is a good place to start. ‘Bible Promises Books’ are also good resources. There are also many internet sources that can help you find verses on particular subjects. Whatever it takes – don’t let the Devil get the victory. Go back to the Truth and find victory.

Comments are closed.