Devotional: ‘Seek the Lord’

Standard

“When thou saidst, Seek ye my face; my heart said unto thee, Thy face, LORD, will I seek.”  (Psalm 27:8  KJV)

The Bible teaches us that no one can look upon the face of God and live.  The fullness of God’s glory is so great that nothing created can contain it; the measure of God’s majesty is so incredible that no human words can describe it; the perfection of God’s holiness is so hallowed that none dare approach it.  Why then does God encourage David to seek His face?
In Numbers 6, the LORD gave to Aaron and his sons a blessing to pronounce upon the people.

“The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD turn his face toward you and give you peace.” (Numbers 6:24-26)

Whereas no man may look upon the glory God’s face and live, the graciousness of God’s face looks upon us.  It is the graciousness of God’s face that we must seek.
Seeking the graciousness of God’s face involves seeking at least three things.

It involves seeking God’s presence.

“One thing have I desired of the LORD, that will I seek after; that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the LORD, and to enquire in his temple.”  (vs. 4)

The temple David sought was much more than the tabernacle at Jerusalem.  To dwell in the house of the LORD meant that he would seek to live with constant recognition of the presence of God in his life.  David’s mind would ever be on the LORD; therefore the LORD’S face would ever be before David.

Seeking the graciousness of God’s face also means seeking God’s praise.

“And now shall mine head be lifted up above mine enemies round about me: therefore will I offer in his tabernacle sacrifices of joy; I will sing, yea, I will sing praises unto the LORD.”  (vs. 6)

Lastly we see that seeking the graciousness of God’s face means seeking His pathway.

“Teach me thy way, O LORD, and lead me in a plain path, because of mine enemies.”  (vs. 11)

One day when we are in heaven, we will be able to look upon the face of God and worship Him in all the fullness of His glory.  But until that day arrives, we are blessed to have the graciousness of God’s face look upon us.  “When thou saidst, Seek ye my face; my heart said unto thee, Thy face, LORD, will I seek.”  “Oh Lord, bless us and keep us; LORD make thy face shine upon us and be gracious to us; LORD turn thy face toward us and give us peace.”

Comments are closed.