Devotional: ‘Faith That Will Amaze Jesus’

Standard

One of my favorite songs to sing is I Stand Amazed.

“I stand amazed in the presence of Jesus the Nazarene. And wonder how He could love me, a sinner, condemned, unclean. O how marvelous! O how wonderful! And my song shall ever be: O how marvelous! O how wonderful! Is my Savior’s love for me.”

Anyone who has taken the time to study the life of our Savior can’t help but be amazed. But did you know that it is possible for you to amaze the Master? There is an incident in the Bible that tells of a man whose faith was so great that it caused the Lord to marvel.

Luke’s gospel tells us of a Roman centurion who had a servant who was at the point of dying. Because he loved his servant, the centurion sent some men to ask Jesus if He would come and heal him. When Jesus heard their request, He began to set out for the centurion’s home.

But just before they arrived at the house, the officer sent some friends to say, “Lord, don’t trouble yourself by coming to my home, for I am not worthy of such an honor. I am not even worthy to come and meet you. Just say the word from where you are, and my servant will be healed. I know this because I am under the authority of my superior officers, and I have authority over my soldiers. I only need to say, ‘Go,’ and they go, or ‘Come,’ and they come. And if I say to my slaves, ‘Do this,’ they do it.”

When Jesus heard this, he was amazed. Turning to the crowd that was following him, he said, “I tell you, I haven’t seen faith like this in all Israel!” And when the officer’s friends returned to his house, they found the slave completely healed. (Lk 7:1-10 NLT)

The Bible says that when Jesus saw the centurion’s great faith, He marveled. Did you know that there are only two times in scripture that something is said to have amazed Jesus? One is the story we have just read and the other is a time when Jesus visited His hometown of Nazareth. Scripture tells us that on that occasion, Jesus marveled, not because of anyone’s great faith, but “because of their unbelief.” (Mk 6:6 KJV) Scripture also tells us – “And because of their unbelief, he couldn’t do any miracles among them …” (Mk 6:5 NLT)

Is it possible that many times Jesus is willing to perform a miracle if only we are willing to believe? Tomorrow I will share with you another story from the Bible about the power of faith. But for today, let me encourage you to take some time and examine what it is that you really believe about Jesus and your situation. Though I won’t profess to fully understand all there is to know about Christ and His miracles, for some reason I sense that there is a direct link between what He does and what we believe.

Check out the Jeremy Camp song – “I Still Believe”

Leave a Reply

