Devotional: ‘I Will Wake Up the Dawn With My Song!’

Standard

My heart is confident in you, O God; no wonder I can sing your praises with all my heart! Wake up, lyre and harp! I will wake the dawn with my song. I will thank you, Lord, among all the people. I will sing your praises among the nations. For your unfailing love is higher than the heavens. Your faithfulness reaches to the clouds. Be exalted, O God, above the highest heavens. May your glory shine over all the earth. (Ps 108:1-5 NLT)

I love the way the King James Version begins this great psalm – “O God, my heart is fixed.” James tells us that a double minded man is unstable in all his ways. He is like an ocean wave that is tossed about. He is like a leaf that is carried by the wind. He has no security in his life and he is vulnerable to every spark of fear that comes his way. Yet not so for the person who has their heart fixed in the Lord. They are confident.

They are confident in knowing that God’s grace is sufficient for their every need. They understand that they can do all things through Christ who will give them strength. They have been made to realize that all things will work together for their good. Because their heart is fixed, their feet are stable and they are secure in their Lord.

They also have a new song.  “No wonder I can sing your praises with all my heart! Wake up, lyre and harp! I will wake the dawn with my song.” Paul wrote to the Ephesians, “singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs among yourselves, and making music to the Lord in your hearts.” When is the last time you sang to yourself a song of praise to our Lord? When is the last time your spirit was so overflowing with gratitude that it wrote a melody for the Master ? No doubt it has been too long. Could that be because your heart has not been fixed in the Lord? Could that be because you have allowed circumstances to cause you to lose your confidence?

Nehemiah told the workers in Jerusalem, “The joy of the Lord is your strength.” If you are weak, it is because you have lost your joy; and if you have lost your joy it is because you have lost your confidence; and if you have lost your confidence it is because you have lost your focus. But if you will fix your heart in the Lord, He will restore your security and your song.

Leave a Reply

