Devotional: ‘You Never Told Anyone? Why?’

Standard

For God made Christ, who never sinned, to be the offering for our sin, so that we could be made right with God through Christ. (2 Corinthians 5:21) Recently I heard an illustration concerning this verse that really had a major impact upon me. The man speaking told of a time when his family’s septic tank backed up.  He was a young teenager at the time and the guinea pig for trying to help solve the problem.  He and his granddad dug the tank up and opened the lid.  (Hang on, it gets worse!)  To make a long, gross story short,  he wound up falling into the tank!  As he was telling the story, there were moans from all over the auditorium and to be honest, I was thinking, “why in the world are you telling this!”  But then he said something that stopped me dead in my tracks.  He said, “That’s what happened when Jesus came to this earth.  Here was the sinless Son of God, who for all eternity had known nothing but holiness and majesty and glory and honor; who not only enters the pit, but scripture says that He “became our sin for us.”

Even as we think about an open septic tank we turn our heads in disgust; but imagine what it meant for Jesus to take upon Himself all the sin of the world!  Imagine gathering all the sin of all time into one place and then calling God the Father to come and look upon it and to judge it.  Imagine how offensive such a moment would be to the holiness of God and imagine the intensity of His fury and wrath.  Just try to imagine it.

I can’t put into words what it said to me as I sat there and listened to the rest of that message.  When it was time for an altar call, I had to go and fall on my face and ask God to forgive me for how I have failed Him and to thank Jesus for doing that for me.  You see, I was a big part of that septic tank of sin!  Even now it brings me to tears.

I know that we live in a very difficult time when it comes to sharing our faith, but that can’t stop us.  We can’t let the devil silence us when Jesus has done so much for us!  Imagine what it will be like to face Jesus one day and hear Him say, “I did all of that for you and for the world; yet you never bothered to tell anyone?  Why?”

Leave a Reply

