TODAY IN THE WORD: Where is home?

Standard

‘But our citizenship is in heaven. And we eagerly await a Savior from there, the Lord Jesus Christ, who, by the power that enables him to bring everything under his control, will transform our lowly bodies so that they will be like his glorious body.’  (Php. 3:20-21)

From time to time someone will ask me if this area is now our home.  My reply would have to be that in some ways yes, in other ways no.  Sometime back I started thinking, ‘Where is home?’  If I could live anywhere in the world, where would I choose to live?  Virginia?  Ohio?  Tennessee?  Georgia?  How about Florida?  Hey, if we’re going to dream – how about Hawaii?  The more I thought about it the more I realized that there is no where on this earth that I could find total satisfaction and call it my true home.  As the old song says,

This world is not my home, I’m just-a-passing through
My treasures are laid up somewhere beyond the blue
The angels beckon me from Heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore

(Words and music by Albert E. Brumley)

The writer of the book of Hebrews tells us that those who live by faith are ‘strangers and pilgrims on the earth.’  (Heb 11:13)  That is not to say that we have no care for this life; we are grateful for our homes and the opportunities to enjoy family and friends.  But we will not enjoy the full experience of peace, joy, happiness and rest until we are in the presence of our Savior and surrounded by our fellow saints.

For some, so much of their lives is attached to today that they rarely think of living tomorrow.  For others, so much of their heart is attached to tomorrow that they have a hard time living today.  Perhaps God wants us to live both in today and tomorrow.  Today we are living as Christ’s ambassadors, and as though God was making His appeal through us; we are imploring men on Christ’s behalf to be reconciled to God.  (2 Cor 5:20)  Tomorrow we will be living with all the saints of God in the glories of eternity.

Brethren, don’t stop living today and don’t stop living for tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

