Devotional: ‘Dedicating Ourselves to God’

One of my desires is to someday be in a movement where Christians are whole-heartedly dedicating themselves to God. I envision the whole church being broken and weeping at the altar as we finally come clean with God. I envision believers hugging and praying with each other as lives are mended and broken relationships are restored. I envision Christians falling on bended knees as they yield to God’s call upon their lives. I envision parents praying that God save their child and use them for His glory. I envision a revival so real that none of us will ever be the same.

Will that day ever come? For sure, one day when we enter into heaven. On that day we will realize that Jesus truly is our All in All. Perhaps it will happen before then. Great revivals have occurred in the past and maybe we will be fortunate enough to experience such an event in our generation.

I especially want to see our children get on fire for God. I want to see a generation turn its back upon the pleasures of the world and become what God intended the church to be. Consider what Paul wrote to young Timothy-

1 Timothy 4:12 Don’t let anyone think less of you because you are young. Be an example to all believers in what you teach, in the way you live, in your love, your faith, and your purity.

We’re not told how young Timothy was when Paul first met him. At best he was what we would call a young adult. Perhaps he was only a teenager. Yet note what Paul wrote to him – “Don’t let anyone think less of you because you are young. Be an example to all believers…”

Will you join with me in the prayer that God will one day pour out a great revival upon the church and that a part of that revival will be the commitment of our youth to live for the glory of God?